One beautiful thought

From the start, ‘Larry’ has owned her beauty, and may it continue every moment of her life!

From the start, ‘Larry’ has owned her beauty, and may it continue every moment of her life!

Yup, she’s choosing beautiful!

Yup, she’s choosing beautiful!

I typically rage against popular brand stuff and refuse to wear brand names that show on my clothes, even though my favorite designer routinely tries to sneak it into the design.

But, allow me a moment to just plain gush about Dove. I love their products, have used their soap for years. I pretty much love everything about the brand, but especially the commitment to women, self-love, kindness and beauty.

Dove’s mission: Dove has a vision of a world where beauty is a source of confidence, and not anxiety.

“5 million negative tweets about women were logged in 2014” says Dove. That sounds like a big number, but probably doesn’t compare with the number of negative messages I gave myself in the same time period. I work intentionally on this everyday, because I know that what I say to myself out loud, my children hear and inhale- and even what I say to myself in my own head has power beyond just not helping ME be as happy and healthy as I can be.

Dove’s website offers opportunities to post #speak beautiful words and selfies… and has created and distributed some of the most powerful videos about women and body image, self-talk and courage of our time.

Take a minute, love all over their site, cry over how we see ourselves through the Real Beauty Sketches, find hope in the responses to this latest creation, “One Beautiful Thought.”

Really. Take 2 minutes and watch it now- I promise it will be worth it.

Are you on Twitter? Follow the campaign! #SpeakBeautiful @CoreyJamisonLLC

This blog was originally published by the Times Union and can be accessed here.

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

