Be your own Valentine.

Valentine’s Day breakfast table!

Valentine’s Day breakfast table!

I love Valentine’s Day.

I know it’s a commercialized non-holiday intended to rake in boatloads of cash for the greeting card and floral industries.

Still, I roll around in it, I pinch its rosy cheeks and smooch it excessively. I can’t help myself- and I don’t want to.

gal2

This year, at my first annual GALentine’s Day party (an event aimed at celebrating the many wonderful women I’ve met this year as part of building my business), a friend asked me “why Valentine’s Day?”

She sounded more incredulous than mere typed words can express, so picture her looking at me through squinted, searching eyes, as if Valentinese is my first language, and she is preparing to work very hard to understand my words.

“I love LOVE!” I squeal!

‘We all love love she says (sounding to me a bit like Roz from Monsters Inc.), trying to hide the hint of mockery that is almost impossible to avoid given the state of decoration of my house (which looks like one giant Valentine made by a Kindergartener with an overkill stock of red and pink craft supplies).

gal3

It took me a long time to get love right as an adult, to find a grace-filled, equal, happy relationship. That’s worth celebrating!

My Valentine Loving Mama!

My Valentine Loving Mama!

My mom decorated for Valentine’s Day, and I loved it as a child, because I knew she was celebrating the magical overflow of love in her own life that included me. I honor her, and in some way connect with her- knowing that her love of her family and friends brought her joy in the same ways it brings me joy. THAT is worth celebrating!

Hallway of lovvvveeee!

Hallway of lovvvveeee!

I love love love my children, and have the blessing of step-children- a love that is earned- and so very special. And, I have an ‘extra’ child of my heart, whom I adore. I thank God every day for all of the happiness this blended, funny, complicated, joyful and sometimes crazy family brings to all of us. That is worth celebrating.

Finally, I’m not much of an interior decorator. I like purple, velvet, glitter and sequins. And purple velvet with glitter and/or sequins. That pretty much sums it up right there. Left to my own devices, I would likely cover the exterior of our brick house in the above. My husband fancies himself more capable in this department, sticking to the ‘craftsman’ style- which looks to me like the one room schoolhouse from Little House on the Prairie during the big harvest when no one came to school anyway (except the Olsens). I fail to see where the word “decoration” is even applicable, since having plain straight back wooden chairs and a matching plain table seems more painful necessity than decorative. Valentine’s Day gives me a chance to feel like I am the queen decorator, zee Goddess de Décoration.

gal7

My motto? What’s worth doing is worth over-doing. Even my 7 year old describes my Valentine’s Day décor as “excessive” and I am bursting with delight as I ballet leap through the hallway of looovveeeee singing love songs in an operatic style that makes the kids rolls their eyes, annoyed, but certain that they are celebrated and loved (literally) like crazy, and they have the proof.

gal8

So, yes, it’s a made up holiday (because all of the rest of them are… not?). Why not fall in love with it? What do you have to lose? What? You’re not in a relationship, or in one that’s not as happy as you’d like? Decide to be your own Valentine. Couldn’t we all use a little more self-love, acceptance, appreciation? More than a holiday, Valentine’s Day gives us an opportunity to slow down and be grateful for the love that IS in our lives, the relationships and friendships and caring we do have. I like to think that celebrating Valentine’s Day with all my heart will help remind me to feel and show this gratitude all year long.

gal8

Happy Valentine’s Month!

Photos courtesy of John Bulmer http://www.bulmerphotography.com

Do you celebrate Valentine’s Month? CoreyJamisonLLC

This blog was originally published by the Times Union and can be accessed here.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

