Love Is Important.

Image

Last night I heard one of our teenage sons call to his 5 year old sister from the next room.  “I just wanted to tell you that I love you, Josephine.” 

“I love you, too,” she said.

Later Josie came to her dad with a book called, “Love Is Important.” Its original title, “I Love You” was scratched out.  She said it was because she had a ‘more big’ thing to say.  Yes, she did, and she does.

May she always know she is loved.

May she, too, remember to share loving, kind words ‘just because.’

For her and for us all, love IS important.

Thank you, Josie, for the reminder.

Tagged with:
Posted in Uncategorized
2 comments on “Love Is Important.
  1. […] thing is the happiness, security and well-being of the kids, and their ability to learn about loving, healthy relationships from watching us all interact with one another, and ‘til death do us […]

  2. […] Love, like most things in life, bears an element of choice.  I could have let my divorce(s) hold me back, I could have disappeared into the shame of dragging my children through hard, painful experiences.  I could have inhaled the outside-in stigma of a woman with a ‘track record’ of failed relationships.  Instead, I chose to see myself as striving, imperfect, but willing to acknowledge and own mistakes, then move forward.  And that admission cleared out space in my heart for courage to take root and grow this family. […]

Leave a Reply

